Concerts and Festivals

Concerts, Festivals & Arts Events

Cumming FUMC plays host to a wide variety of concert programming, festivals and special events.  Throughout the year, the CFUMC family and the Cumming/Forsyth Community can enjoy many different opportunities and many different styles: vocal to instrumental, visual to dance, film to literature.

Check this page often for updates to our upcoming programming.

Joe Russell, Organist

Tuesday, October 22, 7 p.m. in the sanctuary

Rising Star classical organist, Joe Russell marks his debut at Cumming FUMC. Mr. Russell is a recent graduate of Rice University where he studied with Ken Cowan and a previous graduate of the Curtis Institute of Music where he studied with Atlanta native, Alan Morrison. Mr. Russell has performed at such prestigious venues as the Kimmel Center in Philadelphia, St. Patrick’s Cathedral in NYC and the First Congregational Church of Los Angeles (home of the largest church instrument in the world.) He currently serves as Organist of Christ the Redeemer Catholic Church in Houston, TX.

Piedmont College Singers

Tuesday, November 5, 7 p.m. in the sanctuary

The Piedmont College Singers presents We Sing, a program of works in celebration of choral singing and the completion of the college’s new Conservatory of Music.  Composers include Ivo Antognini, Palestrina, Bach, Will Todd, Dominick Argento, and others.

Piedmont College

David Marsh, Organist

Sunday, December 8, 4 p.m. in the Sanctuary Narthex

Rising Star Theater Organist, David Marsh returns to present a concert of Christmas pops music on the Hutchinson organ in the sanctuary narthex and in the sanctuary on the Dyer Organ. One of the most popular concert artists hosted by Cumming FUMC, David is sure to delight audiences of all ages with his music and his wit. David is Executive Assistant and Product Specialist for the Los Angeles Organ Company and is the President of the Orange County Theater Organ Society.

Christmas Lessons and Carols

Sunday, December 15, 8:45 and 11 a.m. in the sanctuary

The Chancel Choir is joined by the area high school chamber choirs and chamber orchestra to present the annual service of Christmas Lessons and Carols. The services are well attended and early arrival is encouraged.

Lessons and Carols

Forsyth County School Concerts & Festivals

hqdefault

All dates and times are subject to change. All school and festival concerts are free and open to the public unless otherwise noted.

Lakeside Middle School Choirs

Tuesday, September 24, 7 p.m.

 

Vickery Creek Middle School Choirs

Tuesday, October 8, 7 p.m.

 

North Forsyth High School Choirs

Tuesday, October 15, 7 p.m.

 

North Forsyth Middle School Choirs

Monday, October 21, 7 p.m.

 

Liberty Middle School Choirs

Monday, October 28, 7 p.m.

 

GMEA Region 9 Middle School Honor Chorus

Friday/Saturday, November 1/2, All day

 

GMEA Region 9 High School Honor Chorus

Friday/Saturday, November 22/23, All day

 

Lakeside Middle School Choirs

Tuesday, December 3, 7 p.m.

 

North Forsyth High School Choirs

Tuesday, December 9, 7 p.m.

 

Vickery Creek Middle School Choirs

Tuesday, December 10, 7 p.m.

 

North Forsyth Middle School Choirs

Monday, December 16, 7 p.m.

 

Liberty Middle School Choirs

Tuesday, December 17, 7 p.m.

 

GMEA Region 9 Middle School LGPE

Wednesday-Friday, March 18-20, 2020, All day

 

GMEA Region 9 High School LGPE

Wednesday-Friday, March 25-27, 2020, All day

 

North Forsyth High School Choirs

Tuesday, April 28, 2020, 7 p.m.

 

Lakeside Middle School Choirs

Thursday, April 30, 7 p.m.

 

Vickery Creek Middle School Choirs

Tuesday, May 11, 2020, 7 p.m.

Leave a Comment